Contact Us | Advertising | Staff Login | Contact Us | About

Cover | Featured Stories | Sports | Extracurricular | Express Yourself

Online Student Newspaper of John W. Hallahan Catholic Girls' High School


 

The Assassin's Curse (Spoiler Free)

The Assassin's Curse (Spoiler Free)

 

     For fans of The Pirates of the Caribbean, The Assassin’s Curse by Cassandra Rose Clarke is an adventurous book that mixes desert and sea, magic and street smarts, and one wizard-assassin and future pirate.

 

     Our main character is a girl of the name Ananna, who has a dream to run her own pirate ship and crew one day, but her plans get ruined when her family tries to marry her off to another pirate clan. Ananna rebels and flees into the city to go and live a life of her own. The pirate clan sends an assassin after her and Ananna tries to defend herself with magic she is not sure how to use and ends up doing something out of instinct that binds her and the assassin together. The assassin's name, as we come to know, is Najii, and the curse is that he must protect Ananna.

 

     Ananna and Najii go an adventure to seek the right people to get rid of the curse and they are faced with everything from violent sandstorms to cursed islands. These two people who are accustomed to loneliness are thrown together and find a friend in the other. They can trust no one but each other.

 

     Ananna is a great, beautiful, strong character. Not only does she have humor and wit, but she has courage and intelligence that is absent in Naji. Ananna is also representative of heavier girls. She is not seen as beautiful and captivating, but rough, brash, and heavy.

 

     This book was a fun fantasy adventure that kept me laughing and left me satisfied and happy at the end. I strongly recommend it for a fun read to get you in a better mood or out of that reading slump that has been maybe brooding over you.

 

Fan art!

 

thebookspa.wordpress

 

tumblr.com

 

ibteens.blogspot

 

tumblr.com

 

cover: goodreads

stars: people.rit.edu

 

 

Tools: Print | E-mail

 

 

Online Student Newspaper

of

John W. Hallahan Catholic Girls' High School

311 N 19th St.

Philadelphia, PA 19103

(215) 563- 8930

 

 

 

Socialize Sandscript

 

More Articles and Sections


Cover

Young Adult Books to Read This Halloween
For the Love of Gilmore Girls


Sports


Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/hallahan/public_html/sectarticlebox.php on line 21


Express Yourself

Fashion Month
India
Vietnam


Featured Stories

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Book Review
Eritrea
TV Shows That'll Scare Your Socks Off


Extracurricular


Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/hallahan/public_html/sectarticlebox.php on line 53